Welcome Guest,Register Now

ANT Forum

Welcome guest, please Login or Register

How do you parse a Fit file for the purpose of analyzing the metrics?

Rank

Total Posts: 5

Joined 2020-03-10

PM

Hello folks,

This is my first time posting here.

I'm writing an app in Java that analyzes data recorded by my Garmin Edge 810 bicycle computer. I was able to import metrics stored in TCX files. The metrics include time, latitude, longitude, distance, altitude, heart rate, power, speed and cadence. My goal now, is to import the same data from a Fit file, as this is the native format of Garmin devices. I've been searching all over the internet and I believe this is the right place to find a solution. I was able to download the latest FitSDK. I'm assuming I should be looking into decoding a fit file, but I've yet to find the code that allows me to decode the metrics I've mentioned.

Specifically, I will be populating an array list with the metrics, from start to finish. My code will use this array list of data to perform an analysis on it.

Which class should I be using in the SDK and what are some examples? Can someone please point me in the right direction?

TIA,

grecinos      
Rank

Total Posts: 15

Joined 2020-02-05

PM

Grecinos,

It sounds like you already downloaded the FIT SDK, if not you can find it here:
https://www.thisisant.com/developer/resources/downloads/#software_tab

You mentioned Java, so I will assume that you already have it installed. In the FIT SDK you can find an example of how to decode a FIT file using Java here:
/java/com/garmin/fit/examples/decode.java

You can compile and run the code from the terminal. In a terminal from the FIT SDK's Java folder execute these two commands to compile and then run the decode example, passing a file name to the second command.

javac com/garmin/fit/examples/DecodeExample.java
java com/garmin/fit/examples/DecodeExample ../examples/Activity.fit