Welcome Guest,Register Now

ANT Forum

Welcome guest, please Login or Register

Raspberry Pi Project

Rank

Total Posts: 4

Joined 2016-12-23

PM

I'm a teenager currently trying to make a raspberry pi project that will tell you your heart rate and potentially flash an LED in time with your heart rate. I have a garmin heart rate monitor and an ant+ usb which I am intending on using with the raspberry pi to make the project. I was intending on using python as the programming language but was unsure as to how I could obtain the data transmitted from the heart rate monitor to the ant+ usb or even how to connect these two items. Any advice on how to accomplish this would be very much appreciated as I have little experience in this field and would like to make this project a reality.
Thanks,
Thomas.      
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 744

Joined 2012-09-14

PM

Hi Thomas,

I'd recommend getting a little familiar with ANT using ANTware II, and playing with ANT channels first. You can follow the channel parameters in the ANT+ Heart Rate Device Profile to connect to the strap using a slave channel.

For the coding, there are a couple open source libraries out there (including the one on the downloads page) which support the ANT USB Stick. Here's one example of a developer who used a Python library to do so.

Good luck!
Harrison      
Rank

Joined 2016-12-23

PM

Thanks for the reply Harrison. I'll get familiar with the software you recommended over the next few days. I have been looking at the project which you put a link to a little bit, and noticed that they used the Suunto Movestick Mini as their ANT+ device to receive the data. I have the standard ANT+ USB that comes with garmin devices, and not the Suunto version. I assume that I will be OK to use this for my project, but just use the idProduct number which is different for my ANT+ USB?      
Rank

Joined 2016-12-23

PM