ANT Forum

Welcome guest, please Login or Register

ANT broadcast RX and TX in a single device

Rank

Total Posts: 16

Joined 2020-10-16

PM

Hello,
I'm new to ANT and I having been testing ANT examples in the Nordic SDK 16.0.

I have seen that there are TX and RX broadcast channel initialization separately. Is there a way to we can setup a device as transmitter as well as receiver with both channel types?

I have tried to setup two channels, one transmitter, other receiver in a single project and it throws errors.

The basic concept is that device receive data on RX channel and retransmits to all devices in field using TX channel (with an incremented message ID).

I have also seen the multichannel example, but that too is with single type of channel either TX or RX.

Thanks.      
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 370

Joined 2012-06-27

PM

Yes you can open multiple channels on a single device, and they can be a mix of master and slave channels. Please share code and/or the error you are seeing to help determine what your issue is.

There are also bidirectional channels, which support a response message from slave to master. However, it sounds like you want two separate channels for your use case.      

Signature

Ian Haigh

Rank

Joined 2020-10-16

PM

Hi,
Thanks for reply.

The idea is that a device can send and receive messages at the same time.

I was able to use two channel, error was removed by incrementing NRF_SDH_ANT_TOTAL_CHANNELS_ALLOCATED in the sdk_config.h file. I am checking data reliability with this setup.

I have also tried single bidirectional channel. There are certain issues though:

1. I reply in the EVENT_RX whenever data received from master, however, the actual data received is half that of sent from slave. The master misses every other packet. Say I'm sending packet 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ....; the master receives 2, 4, 6, 8, .....