Welcome Guest,Register Now

ANT Forum

Welcome guest, please Login or Register

Develop with Android Studio, General Remarks

Rank

Total Posts: 5

Joined 2016-02-26

PM

I want to develop an Android App similar to "IpBike" as you find it in Google Play Store. I have many years of experience in this kind of development but find it very hard to use ANT+.

Some General Remarks:

1. The titel of this subforum is wrong. It should read "ANT and Android", because it also covers tablets. As far as I know windows phones don't support ANT?

2. The Workshops or Trainings I found are for eclipse, but the newer environment would be Android Studio. I like eclipse but Android Studio is better.

3. The workshops have almost no information on debugging. I would like to do most of the develpment on a PC. But it is not clear if the ANT+ Plugins and the ANT Radio Service would run in an emulator environment.

4. I was able to do the droidweight workshop and finally the App worked. However the SDK is just too complex.

5. I doubt many people will develop Apps for ANT on Android, and if you do a seach in Google Play Store you have to agree. The ANT SDK It is just to complex.

6. These remarks are also valid for development of Apps for smartwatches like vivoactive.

Rank

Total Posts: 1

Joined 2015-12-22

PM

Agree with all your points and then some. The SDK and sample apps fail at the most basic level - atrocious documentation, sample apps which have apparently never heard of Gradle, zero Android Studio support, and patronising links to beginner Android tutorials for anyone questioning this. And laggy, spurious results when you do finally get it working. All this from a proprietary product; not worth the blood, sweat and tears. Roll on BLE, sick of this now.      
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 313

Joined 2011-09-12

PM