Welcome Guest,Register Now

ANT Forum

Welcome guest, please Login or Register

Limitations on channel period and number of channels

Rank

Total Posts: 4

Joined 2018-01-03

PM

I'm a new developer with ANT, and I'm evaluating the capability of the protocol for a control application. I'm using the D52 starter kit (nRF52832) and soft device S212 V14.2.0.

For my application, I need 13 channels with a message rate of 60 hz each (channel period of 546/32768 [s]).

I read through the protocol manual and understand that this message rate is aggressive, since 4 hz is recommended, but I would like to understand the limitations so that I can adjust my control algorithm.

Experimenting with the multi-channel example, I was able to achieve these results, at a single RF frequency:

Message Rate (hz): 4 - 8 - 60 - 120
Max # of Channels: 15 - 10 - 2 - 1

Also, I found in the FAQ, that 300 channels are achievable at 1 hz message rate. (https://www.thisisant.com/developer/resources/tech-faq/how-many-ant-nodes-can-exist-in-proximity-to-each-other-1/). All else equal, I would infer that 300 standard packets can fit in a second. That would translate to 5 channels at 60 Hz message rate. I would also think that I could use 3 carrier frequencies to achieve 15 channels at 60 Hz.

However, the results I have show only 2 channels at 60 Hz rather than 5. Furthermore, when I try to open channels spread across different RF frequencies, my results are the same!

Because of these two results (1- carrier frequency not helping, 2- not achieving 300 packets/second), I'm wondering if I am running into the limits of the microprocessor rather than the limits of the protocol.

Are there any other explanations as to why the use of different carrier frequencies for each channel does not increase my success rate, other than running into the limits of the microprocessor?

Thanks and please forgive me if I have used incorrect terminology.

Rank

Joined 2018-01-03

PM

Update: